Posted by Cassy Venters on Nov 01, 2018
The district’s new People of Action Awards presented for the first time at the 19th Annual Foundation Dinner honor clubs that provide service through district grant projects in the 2017-18 Rotary year.   The awards consider humanitarian service, sustainability, measurable outcomes, creativity and Rotarians involvement.  The winners are:
  • Andrew County (small club category) – building raised community gardens.  In receiving the award, Ross Ingersoll, Club President said, “We appreciate that others have recognized the effort given by our club members to make positive change in our community.”
  • Kirksville Thousand Hills (medium club category) – constructing feminine hygiene kits for distribution in Africa.  2017-18 Club President, Jim Bergman, said, "What an honor it is to receive this prestigious award. While the recognition is meaningful, what is most meaningful is the light that it shines on the service we are performing through Days for Girls and the need for this service throughout the world.”
  • Blue Springs (large club category) – building a sensory wall for disabled adults and children.  Donna Best, 2017-18 Club President, said, “We are extremely humbled and honored to receive the People of Action Award!  The grant project was fun and very rewarding.  We have a great time as a club and more importantly as friends working together to make our community better with everything we do.”
District Grants Chair, Kent Shelman; Kirby Asplund, Public Image Chair; and Don Gladhart, District Governor Nominee, presented the awards.
Cassy Venters, District Rotary Foundation Chair, said: “The Rotary Foundation recognizes the importance of giving to the Annual Fund/SHARE as that funding fuels the engine of Rotary in the district.  Along with giving, we want to celebrate the service that engages so many of us in Rotary.”
The awards are based on the district grant reports that clubs submit and don’t require a separate application process.  For more information, please contact Don Gladhart, District Governor Nominee.