For the past several years, the District has had two Teacher of the Year awards. The focus was on Literacy. This year, because it was such a challenging year in our schools, due to Covid, the decision was made to expand the awards to teachers who took on the challenges of teaching, with different methods, both in the classroom and virtually that changed frequently throughout the school year.
The winner of the K-6 $1000 award was Melissa Everett. She was entered by the Rotary Club of Odessa.
The winner of the 7-12 $1000 award was Alison Robinson. She was entered by the Rotary Club of Macon County.
This past year has been unlike any other, and our teachers have risen to the many challenges they have faced. Across the District we had many teachers who have made a significant impact on their students in this challenging new environment. All of them deserve our thanks for going above and beyond to help their students further their education despite the challenges. Congratulations to the winners and all these extraordinary teachers who made an IMPACT in 2020-21.